The third BMS – BGSMath Junior Meeting will take place in Barcelona 5-7 September 2022. It was planned to take place in 2021, but had to be postponed due to the ongoing Corona pandemic.



The Berlin Mathematical School (BMS) and the Barcelona Graduate School of Mathematics (BGSMath) share the common goal of striving for excellence in their doctoral and postdoctoral training programs.

In 2016, a memorandum of understanding was signed by both graduate schools in order to boost collaborative work between young researchers from both institutions. The schools declared their intention to cooperate together in initiatives aimed at promoting the mobility of and exchange between students and faculty members by way of events such as the Junior Meeting; joint summer schools; mutual visits by advanced students and postdocs of each institution; and other scientific activities.

The ultimate goal is to create strong scientific exchange, strengthen research collaboration between the respective math communities, and enhance the multicultural environment of both graduate schools. The first edition of the BMS-BGSMath Junior Meeting was held in Barcelona in October 2017, and the second one was held in Berlin in June 2019. The third Junior Meeting aims to intensify current collaborations and create new links between the two schools.


Scientific sessions will be focused on different areas of Mathematics, trying to cover a wide range of topics and to be of interest for all the participants. No previous background in a specific area will be required to attend and understand the talks.



BMS – BGSMath Junior Meeting 2019:

Scientific sessions were focused on the following areas: 
 - Algebra, geometry, topology
 - Probability theory, statistics, analysis and PDEs
 - Discrete mathematics and computer science.

Plenary Speakers 
Thomas Krämer (HU Berlin)
Albert Mas-Blesa (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
Mario Kummer (TU Berlin)

Program and Local Information

Organizing committee
Joan Bosa
Marina Gonchenko
Jürg Kramer (Chair)
Jean-Philippe Labbé
Andrew Newman
Tal Orenshtein
Marta Sanz-Solé (Chair)