BMS alumni Alexander Drewitz and Thorsten Rohwedder were honored for their scientific performance by the standing conference of Berlin's university presidents. Alexander Drewitz received the first prize in the category "dissertations", Thorsten Rohwedder the third prize. The award includes prize money of 1,500 euros for the third and 4,000 euros for the first prize.

Alexander Drewitz received a "summa cum laude" for his dissertation "Topics in Random Media“ in 2010. His supervisor at TU Berlin was Professor Jürgen Gärtner. In his thesis, he dealt with transport processes in inhomogeneous media which he analyzed with methods of the probalistic theory. After completing his doctorate in 2010 Alexander is now an "ETH Fellow" at the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETH Zürich).

The title of Thorsten Rohwedder’s dissertation was "An Analysis for some Methods and Algorithms of Quantum Chemistry" which he wrote under the supervision of Professor Reinhold Schneider at TU Berlin. The dissertation also received a "summa cum laude". He studied applications of quantum mechanics in chemistry and was able to prove mathematically rigorous descriptions for some important methods to calculate electron structures. Thorsten finished his dissertation in 2010. Since then he is a research assistant at the math department of TU Berlin.

The standing conference of Berlin's university presidents (Landeskonferenz der Rektoren und Präsidenten der Berliner Hochschulen (LKRP)) awards three Tiburtius Prizes annually plus three prizes of recognition to doctoral students of Berlin universities for excellent dissertations. The awarding ceremony took place on 16 December 2011.