On July 1, 2010, Professor Konrad Polthier of FU Berlin will succeed Professor Jürg Kramer of HU Berlin as chair of the Berlin Mathematical School. Kramer had been chair since December 1, 2007.

The BMS chairmanship rotates every two years between the three participating universities, FU, HU, and TU Berlin. First chair of the BMS was Profesor Günter M. Ziegler from TU Berlin, who was succeeded by Jürg Kramer from HU Berlin. Kramer and Ziegler will continue to serve as deptuy chairs.

For more information please read the press release from Freie Universität Berlin: