On 18 November 2022, the MATH+ community gathered for the MATH+ Day to elect the new Chairs of the Berlin Mathematics Research Center MATH+ and the Berlin Mathematical School (BMS). Both new Chairs will assume their positions for two years.

Michael Hintermüller of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin has taken over the role of the MATH+ Chair from Christof Schütte, Freie Universität Berlin, who had held the position since November 2020. Christof Schütte and Martin Skutella, Technische Universität Berlin, will be MATH+ Co-Chairs.

MATH+ Chairs (M. Hintermüller, C. Schütte, M. Skutella)

Holger Reich, Freie Universität Berlin, succeeds Jürg Kramer, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, as Chair of the BMS, the Graduate School of the Cluster of Excellence MATH+. Jürg Kramer had been Chair since November 2020.

BMS Chairs (J. Sullivan, G. Farkas, H. Reich)

The BMS leadership rotates every two years between the three participating universities, FU, HU, and TU Berlin. Gavril Farkas, Humboldt-Universität, and John M. Sullivan, Technische Universität Berlin, will serve as deputy chairs.