Rotational change of the BMS Chair as of 1 July 2016

Günter M. Ziegler, professor of mathematics at Freie Universität Berlin (FU), is the new chair of the Berlin Mathematical School (BMS).

He took up his post on 1 July 2016, in accordance with the rotating chairmanship, and succeeds Jürg Kramer of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU). An assembly of BMS faculty members unanimously elected Ziegler as the new chair and paid tribute to his predecessor, who will remain BMS deputy chair alongside John M. Sullivan of Technische Universität Berlin (TU). Since Ziegler represents FU Berlin, Konrad Polthier, also of FU, will not act as deputy chair during Ziegler's tenure.

Günter Ziegler and Jürg Kramer

The BMS chairmanship rotates every two years between the three participating universities. In 2006, Ziegler was the first chair of the BMS, followed by Kramer, Polthier, Sullivan, and then Kramer once again.

Ziegler completed his PhD at MIT in 1987 and habilitation at TU in 1992. From 1995 to 2011, he was professor of mathematics at TU, before taking up his current position at FU in 2011.

Everyone at the BMS would like to extend sincere thanks to Jürg Kramer for his hard work and outstanding commitment as the BMS Chair over the past two years, and we would also like to give his successor, Günter M. Ziegler, a very warm welcome!