Every four years, during the European Congress of Mathematics, the European Mathematical Society awards 10 EMS Prizes, the Felix Klein Prize and the Otto Neugebauer Prize. All prize winners are usually announced at the Opening Ceremony at the beginning of the congress. Unfortunately, this year the tradition called for an alternative.

The 10 EMS Prizes are awarded “to young researchers not older than 35 years, of European nationality or working in Europe, in recognition of excellent contributions in mathematics.” The 10 EMS Prizes are funded by Foundation Compositio Mathematica and EMS Press.

Maryna Viazovska is a full professor at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne in Switzerland. Previously, she was a postdoctoral researcher at the Berlin Mathematical School and the Humboldt University of Berlin (Dirichlet Postdoc 2013-2016) and a Minerva Distinguished Visitor at Princeton University. Her research interests include number theory and optimal configurations on manifolds.

Karim Alexander Adiprasito was a member of BMS, first as a PhD student at TU Berlin (2010-2013) and then at FU Berlin. Currently, he is a Professor at the University of Copenhagen and the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He works in the field of combinatorics, but combines methods from algebra, geometry and topology in innovative ways, solving problems in a wide range of areas.