After a two-year break, MATH+ and its Graduate School, the BMS, were finally able to honor its graduates and recent BMS alumni with a festive certificate ceremony in the beautiful and traditional Leibniz-Saal of the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW). Almost 140 members and guests followed the invitation and enjoyed a wonderful afternoon and long overdue get-together.

The afternoon started at 13:00 with the BMS PhD seminar “What is…?“. PhD student M. Levent Dogan introduced the topic of the following MATH+ Friday colloquium on “P, NP, and Probabilistically Checkable Proofs”, held by Irit Dinur of the Weizmann Institute of Sciences. The presentations were part of the 2022 nationwide event series of “The 7 Greatest Adventures of Mathematics” that focuses on the description of the seven Millennium Prize problems presented by seven German mathematical research institutions. The recordings of the presentations on "P versus NP" are available on the MATH+ YouTube channel.

At 16:00, MATH+ Chair Christof Schütte welcomed everyone to the Certificate Ceremony and gave a laudation of the MATH+ Dissertation Award winners from 2020 and 2021, a prize first initiated in 2020. Dr. Josué Tonelli-Cueto (2020), Dr. Lena Walter (2021), and Dr. Paul Hager (2021) were present to proudly receive their Dissertation Award certificates. Congratulations to all of them! Also, congratulations to Dr. Leon Sering (2020) and Dr. Ander Lamaison Vidarte (2021), who unfortunately couldn’t participate in the ceremony.

.                                                            Jürg Kramer, Nadja Wisniewski, Lena Walter, Josué Tonelli-Cueto,
                                                             Paul Hager, Christof Schütte | Photo: © Kay Herschelmann

The next laudation was given by BMS Co-Chair Holger Reich, who announced the Phase I graduates of recent years, followed by the laudation for the Phase II graduates by BMS Chair Jürg Kramer.