The Second BMS – BGSMath Junior Meeting will take place from Wednesday 26 to Friday 28 June 2019 in Berlin. On Wednesday, the event will be held at the TU Berlin Math Building (room MA 041) and on Thursday and Friday in the Lecture Hall at Zuse Institute Berlin (ZIB). The location at the TU Berlin changed from MA 141 to MA 041 at short notice!


The Berlin Mathematical School (BMS) and the Barcelona Graduate School of Mathematics (BGSMath) share the common goal of striving for excellence in their doctoral and postdoctoral training programs.

In 2016, a memorandum of understanding was signed by both graduate schools in order to boost collaborative work between young researchers from both institutions. The schools declared their intention to cooperate together in initiatives aimed at promoting the mobility of and exchange between students and faculty members by way of events such as the Junior Meeting; joint summer schools; mutual visits by advanced students and postdocs of each institution; and other scientific activities.

The ultimate goal is to create strong scientific exchange, strengthen research collaboration between the respective math communities, and enhance the multicultural environment of both graduate schools. The First BMS - BGSMath Junior Meeting was held in Barcelona on 9 and 10 October 2017. The second Junior Meeting aims to intensify current collaborations and create new links between the two schools.


Scientific sessions will be focused on the following areas: 
 - Algebra, geometry, topology
 - Probability theory, statistics, analysis and PDEs
 - Discrete mathematics and computer science.


Each session will consist of a keynote address by a senior researcher and talks from young researchers from both communities. Scientific activities will start on Wednesday 26 June in the afternoon and will be followed by a welcome reception. On Thursday 27 June, there will be a conference dinner.

Plenary Speakers 

Thomas Krämer (HU Berlin)
Albert Mas-Blesa (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
Mario Kummer (TU Berlin)


Wednesday 26 June
16:30 - 17:00: Registration
17:00 - 18:00: Plenary Talk (Mario Kummer)
18:00 - 19:00: Welcome Reception

Thursday 27 June
09:00 - 10:00: Plenary Talk (Albert Mas-Blesa)
10:00 - 10:30: Luisa Andreis (Berlin)
10:30 - 11:00: Break
11:00 - 11:30: Filippo Giuliani (Barcelona)
11:30 - 12:00: Tommaso Cornelis Rosati (Berlin)
12:00 - 12:30: Marina Garrote (Barcelona)
12:30 - 14:30: Lunch Break
14:30 - 15:00: Torstein Nilssen (Berlin)
15:00 - 15:30: Eduard Roure (Barcelona)
15:30 - 16:00: Gyula Csato (Barcelona)
16:00 - 16:30: Break
16:30 - 17:00: David Moriña (Barcelona)
17:00 - 17:30: Sven Jäger (Berlin)
19:00: Conference Dinner @ Parkcafé Berlin Restaurant

Friday 28 June
09:00 - 09:30: Vasiliki Velona (Barcelona)
09:30 - 10:00: Shagnik Das (Berlin)
10:00 - 10:30: Joana Cirici (Barcelona)
10:30 - 11:00: Break
11:00 - 11:30: Joseph Doolittle (Berlin)
11:30 - 12:00: Joan Claramunt (Barcelona)
12:00 - 12:30: Francisco Criado (Berlin)
12:30 - 14:30: Lunch Break
14:30 - 15:30: Plenary Talk (Thomas Krämer)
15:30 - 16:00: Karin Schaller (Berlin)
16:00 - 16:30: Break
16:30 - 17:00: Laura Brustenga (Barcelona)
17:00 - 17:30: Daniele Agostini (Berlin)


Registration ended on 17 June.

Additional Information 

Program and Local Information

Organizing committee

Joan Bosa
Marina Gonchenko
Jürg Kramer (Chair)
Jean-Philippe Labbé
Andrew Newman
Tal Orenshtein
Marta Sanz-Solé (Chair)

Contact Person

Jean-Philippe Labbé: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.